In the wake of last week’s Moot Corp competition in Austin, Texas, I picked up the list of feeder competitions that lead to the Moot Corp. Winners in these competitions are invited to compete at the Moot Corp.

If things go as they normally do, these venture competitions will be held again for the next venture competition season, beginning this fall and running through next April. If you have connections with any of these, it’s a great experience; I recommend you get into it. Normally you do have to have direct involvement with an MBA-level program, ideally as a student. If you aren’t a student but know somebody who is, you can become involved by recruiting that person onto a team, because each team normally has to include one MBA student.

Idea to Product Competition
Early November
Hosted by The University of Texas at Austin
Contact info@ideatoproduct.org

The John Heine Entrepreneurial Challenge
Early December
Hosted by the Brisbane Graduate School of Business
Queensland University of Technology, Australia
Contact Belinda Hopgood at b.hopgood@qut.edu.au

Georgia Bowl
February
Hosted by Kennesaw State University
Contact Charles Hofer at jrmh@bellsouth.net

Cardinal Challenge
February
Hosted by the University of Louisville
Contact Van G.H. Clouse at clouse@louisville.edu

UC Spirit of Enterprise MBA Business Plan Competition
February
Hosted by the University of Cincinnati
Contact Charles Matthews at ecenter@uc.edu

FGV Latin Moot Corp Competition
March
Hosted by Fundacao Getulio Vargas, Sao Paulo, Brazil
Contact Laura Cristina Pansarella at cenn@fgvsp.br or Rene Jose Rodrigues Fernandes at rene.rodrigues@fgvsp.br

Northwest Venture Championship
March
Hosted by Boise State University
Contact Kent E. Neupert at kneupert@boisestate.edu

Camino Real Venture Competition
March
Hosted by University of Texas at El Paso
Contact Nancy Lowery at nlowery@bnsl.org.

Thammasat Asia Moot Corp® Competition
March
Hosted by Thammasat University, Thailand
Contact Bill Randall at info@asiamootcorp.org.

McGinnis Venture Competition
March
Hosted by Carnegie Mellon University
Contact Art Boni at boni@andrew.cmu.edu

CEDIC New Venture Championship
March
Hosted by the Center for Economic Development, Innovation and Commercialization
Contact Gary Cadenhead at cadenheadg@mail.utexas.edu

Venture Challenge
March
Hosted by the Entrepreneurial Management Center
San Diego State University
Contact Sarah Bonura at sbonura@projects.sdsu.edu

IBK Capital-Ivey Business Plan Competition
March
Hosted by the Richard Ivey School of Business
University of Western Ontario
Contact Eric Morse at emorse@ivey.uwo.ca or Ellen Brown at embrown@ivey.uwo.ca

Wake Forest MBA Elevator Competition
March
Hosted by Wake Forest University
Contact Donna Fulp at Donna.Fulp@mba.wfu.edu

Lunar Ventures
March 28 – 30, 2008
Hosted by Colorado School of Mines
Contact Gary Cadenhead at info@8clunarventures.com

Rice University Business Plan Competition
April 3 to 5, 2008
Hosted by the Rice Alliance for Technology and Entrepreneurship
Rice University
Contact Brad Burke at rbpc@rice.edu

Stuart Clark Venture Challenge
April 3 to 5, 2008
Hosted by the Asper Centre for Entrepreneurship
University of Manitoba
Contact Rob Warren at Robert_Warren@umanitoba.ca

Utah Entrepreneur Challenge
April 5, 2008
Hosted by University of Utah
Contact Leonard Black at Leonard.Black@business.utah.edu

New Ventures World Competition
April
Hosted by the Nebraska Center for Entrepreneurship
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Contact Glenn Friendt at friendt2@unl.edu or entprenshp@unlnotes.unl.edu

New Venture Championship
April
Hosted by the Lundquist Center for Entrepreneurship
University of Oregon
Contact Marianne Rosen-Murr at mtmurr@uoregon.edu

Uniandes Moot Corp Business Plan Competition
April
Hosted by Universidad de los Andes, Colombia
Contact Rafael Vesga at rav@adm.uniandes.edu.co

OFC Venture Challenge
April
Hosted by Clark Atlanta University
Contact Mohammad Bhuiyan at 404-880-8657 or ofcvc@hotmail.com

USF-PSI International Business Plan Competition
April 24 to 26, 2008
Hosted by the University of San Francisco
Contact Mark Cannice at cannice@usfca.edu

Was this article helpful?
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Tim BerryTim Berry
Tim Berry

Tim Berry is the founder and chairman of Palo Alto Software and Bplans.com. Follow him on Twitter @Timberry.